Ad image

ANOCA Zone V Elections slated for Saturday as Blick steps aside



The new Executive committee of the 11 Central and East African Countries that form the Association of National Olympics Committees of Africa (ANOCA) Zone V will be elected at the AGM at Best Western Premier Hotel in Entebbe on Saturday, 1st May, 2021.

The development was confirmed by outgoing ANOCA Zone V President William Blick.

“I will be stepping aside as President of the ANOCA zone V after doing one term of four years. On Saturday there will be a general assembly that will also be the elective assembly where by a new President and Executive committee will be elected.”

- Advertisement -

Blick who has been the President for the last four year since replacing Sudan’s Mohammed Halim also hinted on the achievements of his reign.

“I wanted to do games for the zone and we did the first ever youth games for the zone in Rwanda, 2019 and that is one of the success story. There other one was having an effective communication strategy where we introduced a news letter which has been running monthly in French, English and Arabic giving information that covers ten countries.” We also introduced twitter and Facebook for the zone.”

Stated Blick

- Advertisement -
This morning H.E Hon. Kiema Kilonzo, Kenyan High Commissioner to Uganda had a meeting with Mr Blick (Zone V President) and Mr Paul Tergat OLY, President NOC Kenya at the BWP Garden Hotel Entebbe

Blick became the second Ugandan in 2017 to hold such a big portfolio in ANOCA, after Maj.Francis Nyangweso who headed the entire Anoca membership from 1999/2001 is hopeful that the new Executive will be able to have two youth games in a year.

Three places will be up for grabs with Doctor Weldegiorgis Ashebir from Ethiopia battling Engineer Elerian Sharif (Egypt) for Presidency.

For Treasurer, Incumbent Gulam Rashid (Tanzania) will face off with Dr.Deran Tong Chor Malek.

Alexis Sharangabo(Rwanda),Luul Fisshehaye(Eritrea),Mohamed Abdou(Somalia)
and Salvator Bigirimana(Burundi) will contest for the three committee member positions.

Already through unopposed are Kenya’s Francis Mutuku as Secretary General and Hussam Hashim Khojaly as Vice President.

- Advertisement -

Uganda’s vote at the forthcoming election is with the new Uganda Olympic Committee President Donald Rukare.

Burundi, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda are the 11 countries that make up the ANOCA Zone V membership.

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content