Ad image

BIG LEAGUE: NEC FC fight back to overcome Adjumani in a six goal thriller


Sinan Rajub SENOGA 

NEC FC 4-2 Adjumani Town Council 

NEC FC staged a second half comeback to defeat Adjumani Town Council 4-2 in a Big League encounter played at Bugolobi.

Goals from Derrick Ssekiranda, Richard Ajuna, Marvin Kavuma and Ivan Kamoga ensured victory for the Micheal Skills Lukyamuzi coached team.

Despite dominating proceedings in the first half, NEC went to the mandatory halftime break while trailing 1-0 to the victors.

- Advertisement -

Captain Joel Aldo Indi gave Adjumani the lead in the 15th minute when he tapped the ball from close range following a low corner kick.

NEC had a host of chances through their skipper Kavuma, Ssekiranda, Shamir Kimwero and Sulaiman Ssesazi but the Adjumani goalkeeper Joakino Amecitiku put up an outstanding performance to deny them.

10 minutes into the second half, Ssekiranda finally beat Amecitiku with a close range header to equalize for the home side.

- Advertisement -

50 seconds after Ssekiranda’s leveller, the home side scored their second goal through Richard Ajuna who finished off from a Kavuma assist.

Kavuma then made it 3-1 with a beautiful finish after swiftly dribbling from outside the box before slotting the ball past the goalkeeper in the 65th minute.

Adjumani reduced the deficit in the 76th minute through Nasur Alhamad who thumped the ball from within the area following a poor clearance.

Two minutes later, Ivan Kamoga sealed off the victory for NEC with the fourth goal through a volley from Ajuna’s long ball.

The win temporarily took NEC to the second place on 16 points, one behind leaders Kitara FC who drew goalless with Police on Wednesday.

- Advertisement -

Other games played on the saw Calvary thump Luweero United 4-1, Jinja North beat Northern Gateway 2-1, Kyetume drew 1-1 with Booma while Lugazi beat Kaaro Karungi 3-0.

NEC FC XI – Michael Okiria (GK), Richard Ajuna, Ivan Kamoga, Sulaiman Ssesazi, Kimwero Shamir, Angelo Kizza, Odongo Gideon, Farouk Ssekayi, Mubutu Gavin, Derrick Ssekiranda, Margin Kavuma

Adjumani TC XI – Joakino Amecitiku (GK), Francis Yikita, Joseph Komakech, Shafi Musa, Sardad Kisekka, Ajiga Michael, Emmanuel Anyama, Aldo Indi Joel, Shafi Mansur Safi, Nasur Alhamad, Victor Aweko,

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content