Ad image

CECAFA U20 WOMEN’S CHAMPIONSHIPS: Uganda’s opponents, format of play and fixtures revealed

Shakira Nyinagahirwa passes the ball in midfield. Photo/FUFA Media


The fixtures of the inaugural CECAFA U20 Women’s Challenge Cup have been revealed with only six teams to take part.

Uganda will host the tournament at the FUFA Technical Center in Njeru.

Tanzania, Ethiopia, Burundi, Eritrea and Djibouti are the other countries that will take part in the tournament.

Rwanda, Kenya, South Sudan, Somalia and Zanzibar will not compete in this first ever edition.

- Advertisement -

The tournament will be played in a round robin format where the winners of will be determined by accumulation of the highest number of points in the five games played by each team.

Uganda will open up the campaign against Burundi on Thursday 28th October before facing off with Djibouti three days later.

The Ayub Khalifa coached side will face Eritrea in the third game on Wednesday 3rd November and Tanzania in th fourth game on Saturday November 6th.

- Advertisement -

They will conclude the campaign with an encounter against Ethiopia on Tuesday 9th November.

Ayub Khalifa has already named a provisional squad of 30 players which consists of the majority of the players that beat Kenya 10-3 in the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

The tournament will serve as a precursor for Uganda’s 3rd round qualification encounter against South Africa.

Ethiopia and Tanzania are the other two teams that are still in the Women World Cup qualifiers.

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content