CHAN: A Complete account of nations that qualified for Algeria 2023


Last weekend, Uganda eliminated neighbors Tanzania to qualify for their 6th edition of the biannual tournament that is a preserve for only players that ply their trade in the local leagues.

The Cranes like 15 other nations were aspiring to join Algeria for showpiece that will be held for the 7th time since inauguration in 2009.

Qualification by CAF was made through subdivision of the organisation’s regions into zones to allow each region be represented.


The Central-East Zone will be represented by Uganda, Sudan and Ethiopia.

Sudan qualified by getting the better of Rwanda following a 1-0 victory in Addis Ababa. They had forced a goalless draw in Kigali.

The Cranes were 4-0 winners over Tanzania, whereas Sudan overpowered Djibouti 7-3 on aggregate.

Mozambique, Angola and Madagascar made through to represent the South Zone with Madagascar leapfrogging Botswana 2-1 on aggregate.

Mozambique were sent through courtesy of the away goals rule after tying with Malawi 1-1 over the two legs.

Angola demolished South Africa with a 6-1 aggregate.

Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville and DR Congo will represent the Central Zone.

Brazzaville forced their way past Central African Republic on away goals rule after losing 2-1 away and winning 1-0 at home.

Cameroon bounced back from a 1-0 away defeat to beat Equatorial Guinea 2-0 in Yaounde.

The West B zone sent Cote d’Ivoire, Niger and Ghana through with Ghana edging perrenial nemesis Nigeria on penalties following a stalemate after the two legs.

Each of them won with an identical score of 2-0 at home.

Cote d’Ivoire also eliminated Burkina Faso on penalties after none of the two sides managed to score over the two legs.

Niger completed the line up having overturned a 1-0 first leg loss over Togo when they beat them 3-1 in Niemy.

The West A Zone will be represented by Senegal, Mali and Mauritania.

Senegal returns to the tournament after an absence of 11 years. They edged Guinea on penalties following a 1-0 stalemate.

Mali got the better of Sierra Leone and Mauritania eliminated Guinea Bissau thanks to a comfortable 2-0 aggregate.

Algeria the hosts, Morocco and Libya are the teams to come from the North Zone.

Libya qualifies as the representatives from the UNAF, Algeria as hosts and Morocco will be back to defend their crown after winning it two years ago in Cameroon.

What do you think?

Written by admin

Kiplimo, Nabbumba among Fortebet Real Stars for August

CAF appoints Match officials for Olympic Real De Bangui, Vipers game