Ad image

Cricket: Uganda to host Kenya and Nigeria for Pearl of Africa T20 Series



Uganda will be the host to Nigeria and East African neighbours Kenya for a 13 match T20 International Series as all three sides build up for the ICC Africa T20 World Cup Qualifiers in Rwanda.

The tournament was officially launched on Monday at the Entebbe Cricket Oval.

Nigeria are fast improving as a cricket nation and got a taste of the big time at the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers in UAE in 2019 therefore they are no push overseas.

- Advertisement -

Asanka Gurusinha Nigeria’s coach says that they are to use the tournament for ICC Qualifiers preparations

“After nearly two years Nigeria is playing competitive cricket and we will be using this tournament as preparation for the ICC qualifiers in November. We are looking forward to playing two top sides and competing.”

Kenya under the leadership of Shem Ngoche are currently playing a 3 match one day series with the hosts which is evenly poised at 1-1 are using the T29 series to torch up their squad ahead of the qualifiers in Kigali.

- Advertisement -

Kenya were also part of the global qualifiers in UAE in 2019.

The last time Kenya faced off with Uganda was in 2019 in Kampala with the Kenyans managing a one run win over their East African compatriots.

Skipper Brian Masaba, Saud Islam, Ronak Patel, Dinesh Nakrani alongside youngsters Frank Akankwasa and Kenneth Waiswa are expected to inspire Uganda to success.

The games will all be played at the Entebbe Cricket Oval with a YouTube Stream available for the fans to follow. The tournament will have a World class stream provided by Dreamcatcher Sports that will be distributed globally.

For us to be able to pull off this event, we have received support from PEPSI through their Nirvana water brand. Pepsi has given us 200 cartoons of water.

- Advertisement -

Roke Telkom is providing a dedicated connection at the cricket oval for us to be able to stream the game and Uganda Airlines is giving a return air ticket to Zanzibar for the series Most Valuable Player (MVP). We are very grateful to these companies and we shall give them the value that they deserve.

The Teams;


Brian Masaba (Captain), Arnold Otwani,Simon Ssesazi, Saud Islam, Ronak Patel, Deus Muhumuza, Riazat Ali Shah,Frank Akankwasa, Fred Achelam, Dinesh Nakrani,Kenneth Waiswa,Charles Waiswa, Henry Ssenyondo,Gerald Mubiru,Bilal Hassan, Jonathan Ssebanja, Harsh Panchal, Richard Agamire.


Shem Ngoche, Irfan Karim, Nehemiah Ngoche,
Rushhabhvardhan Patel,Nelson Odhiambo, Gurdeep Bhagat, Alex Auma, Dominic Wesonga, Eugene Odhiambo, Elijah Asoyo, Emmanuel Ringera, Zahid Abbas, Vraj Patel, Lucas Ndandason,Peter Langat, Muhammad Kaylan, Stephen Obuya, Brian Likavu


Joshua Ayannaike (Captain), Chimezie Onwuzulike, Daniel Ajekun Samuel Mba, Sesan Adedeji, Vincent Adewoye, Jimoh Abdulrahman, Isaac Okpe,Taiwo Mohammed, Mustapha Yusuf, Peter Aho,Prosper Useni, Sylvester Okpe (Vice-Captain), Odion Isesele, Abdulrasheed Abolarin, Segun Ogundipe, Danladi Isaac, Sulaimon Runsewe

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content