Ad image

Gomba, Bulemeezi vie for Masaza Cup Glory



2023 Masaza Cup Final

*Third place playoff: Buddu Vs Mawokota (11am)
*Final: Gomba Vs Bulemeezi (3PM)
*Venue: Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku
*Fees: Ordinary ticket Shs20000, VIP Shs50000

The 2023 Buganda Masaza Cup competition will climax on Saturday at Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

- Advertisement -

Record winners Gomba will be eyeing a sixth Masaza Cup triumph when they face off with Bulemeezi in the epic finale.

Bulemeezi are two time competition winners and are targeting a third prestigious title.

Gomba are contesting in their 10th Masaza Cup final having previously played in the 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2020, winning five trophies.

Their previous triumphs come in 2004, 2009, 2014, 2017 and 2020.

For Bulemeezi, this is their fourth competition final, with the previous three coming in 2011, 2012 and 2019.

They are victors in 2012 and 2019.

Gomba will be without their head coach Felix Ssekabuza and captain Tony Atugonza due to suspensions.

Bulemeezi under the stewardship of 2020 Masaza Cup winning coach with Gomba and last year’s finalist Ibrahim Kirya will miss the services of David Opio due to card accumulation.

Bulemeezi seeking a third Masaza Cup triumph

Kirya is also a losing finalist in the 2023 edition of the Bika Bya’baganda football competition with Mboga.

Gomba beat Ssingo 4-1 on aggregate in the Quarterfinal to reach the Semifinal stage were they powered past Buddu 3-1 after two legs.

Bulemeezi eliminated Buwekula at the Quarterfinal stage 2-1 on aggregate to set up a Semifinal meeting with three time winners Mawokota.

In the Semifinal, Kirya’s charges needed a 4-2 shootout win to prevail to the final.

Gomba will look up inspirational striker Kenneth Kimera who has scored in each game of the knockout phase. His four goals have been crucial for the record winners this term.

Meanwhile, Buddu will battle Mawokota for a third place playoff game.

Masaza previous Winners:

2022 – Busiro
2021 – Buddu
2020 – Gomba
2019 – Bulemeezi
2018 – Buddu
2017 – Gomba
2016 – Buddu
2015 – Singo
2014 – Gomba
2013 – Mawokota
2012– Bulemeezi
2011– Buluri
2010– Not Held
2009– Gomba
2008– Kyadondo
2007– Mawokota
2006– Kooki
2005- Mawokota
2004- Gomba

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content