Ad image

New date for 2021 Masaza Cup Final revealed



The date and venue of the 17th edition of the Airtel Masaza Cup tournament have been revealed.

The 2021 Cup final between Buddu and Buwekula will be held at the St.Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on the 5th March, 2022.

The development was confirmed through a letter from the competition’s organizing committee to FUFA on Tuesday.

“I bring you greetings from the Kingdom of Buganda. We appreciate the Federation’s Contribution towards the development of football in the kingdom and Uganda in general, reads part of the letter from the Masaza Cup organizing Committee.

- Advertisement -

“The purpose of this letter therefore is to inform you that Masaza Cup closing match between Buwekula and Buddu is scheduled to take place on 5th March 2022 at the St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende. The closing match match will be officiated by the King of Buganda, His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II.”

Read the letter.

Meanwhile, the organizing committee will officially announce the date for the final to the members of the media next week.

- Advertisement -

Buddu will be playing their fifth Masaza Cup final after edging two time champions Bulemeezi 3-1 on penalties in the semifinal. Their only Masaza Cup triumph was in 2016 against Gomba.

They finished as runners up during the 2020 edition, losing to eventual winners Gomba 3-1 in the final at Kitende.

Buwekula advanced to the final after eliminating three time competition winners Mawokota in 5-3 on penalties after a 1-1 normal time stalemate in semifinal.

Buwekula last contested in the Masaza Cup final during the 2012 edition, losing 1-0 to Bulemeezi.

Buddu are under the stewardship of Stephen Bogere who led them to the 2016 triumph whereas Frank Mulindwa is the head coach of Buwekula.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, Mawokota and Bulemeezi will contest for the third place playoff on the same day.

Previous winners.

2020: Gomba
2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Ssingo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Ssingo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Buluuli
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content