Ad image

Ngoonge power past Mbogo to clinch first ever Airtel Bika crown



The 2023 BIKA Tournament climaxed at Wankulukuku Stadium on Saturday with Ngonge clinching their first ever Championship.

Ngonge Clan attained the title after defeating Mbogo Clan with a 2-0, courtesy of first half goals from Ronald Ssekiganda and Richard Ssonko.

In Netball, Ngeye retained their crown after beating Nyonyi Nyange 37 against 36 points in the final.

Ngeye retained the Netball title

Omutima Omusagi finished third football after overcoming Nsenene 5-4 in the penalty shootout after a 3-3 draw in normal time.

- Advertisement -

Mamba Namakaka finished third in Netball after beating Nkima 42-37.

His Majesty the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II graced the final.

The BIKA Tournament is a grassroots tournament that draws together 56 clans, including the royal clan, the Abalangira, that make up the Buganda totems. The 2023 tournament included Football and Netball games.

Ali Balunywa the Sales and Distribution Director at Airtel Uganda congratulated all the 56 clans that braved the 2023 BIKA Tournament season and showcased great talent on the pitch since the games were launched in May this year.

“Emerging as a winner requires dedication, hard work, and resilience to be able to compete proficiently, and all the teams have embodied a winning spirit, hence they are all winners,” said Balunywa, adding that,

“Sports like football and netball are steadily growing in Uganda and I am impressed that talent is scouted from tournaments like BIKA and Masaza Cup to represent the country in other tournaments at a national and regional level.”

He added,

“Our brand promise is to give our people A Reason to Imagine and now with the enhancement of our network to Uganda’s First 5G Network, we believe sportsmen will be able to keep up-to-date with other sports competitions across the world through digital and social media channels and borrow tactics that can make them stand out as well as compete at a global stage similar to what She Cranes showcased in South Africa recently.”

Airtel Uganda has rolled out the 5G Network across 50 sites in the central business district and will scale up the network on 25,000 sites across the country on a site-by-site basis. These advancements are aimed at giving Ugandans an opportunity to leverage technology to improve their well-being as well as participate in different social-economic activities like sports, agriculture, and entrepreneurship among others.

Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga congratulated Ngonge Clan for winning the 2023 tournament, and appreciated all the Clans that participated in the tournament.

“BIKA Games celebrate the different clans and the heritage of Buganda Kingdom which is a unifying factor in the Kingdom and surrounding areas. It also plays a key role in social economic development as people come together to rally behind their teams on and off the pitch and engage in the different entrepreneurial opportunities presented by the tournament. I thank Airtel Uganda for being a notable partner and for always extending support which is instrumental in helping us organize such engagements,” Owek said.

“We thank Buganda Kingdom for pioneering activities like BIKA tournament where talent is groomed. We commit to continue supporting initiatives that are intended to inspire people in communities where we operate to become the best they can be and showcase their potential once given platforms like the BIKA tournament,” Balunywa concluded.

Robert Kyagulanyi Sentamu alias Bobi Wine the National Unity Platform President was also in attendance.


1950: Mbogo
1951: Ngabi Nsamba
1952: Mmamba Gabunga
1953: Not Held
1954: Not Held
1955: Kkobe
1956: Mmamba Gabunga
1957: Nyonyi Nyange
1958: Ngeye
1959: Mmamba Gabunga
1960: Ffumbe
1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
1962: Nkima
1963: Not Held
1964: Mmamba Gabunga
1965: Mmamba Gabunga
1987: Ngabi Nsamba
1988: Lugave
1989: Mmamba Gabunga
1990: Lugave
1991: Ngeye
1992: Ngeye
1993: Nkima
1994: Mmamba Gabunga
1995: Lugave
1996: Mpindi
1997: Nnyonyi Nyange
1998: Lugave
1999: Lugave
2000: Mpologoma
2001: Ngo
2002: Mpologoma
2003: Mmamba Gabunga
2004: Lugave
2005: Ffumbe
2006: Mpindi
2007: Ngabi Nsamba/Mpindi
2008: Kkobe
2009: Ffumbe
2010: Nte
2011: Mmamba Gabunga
2012: Ngeye
2013: Ngabi Nsamba
2014: Mmamba Gabunga
2015: Mbogo
2016: Nte
2017: Nte
2018: Nkima
2019: Mbogo
2020: Not held due to Covid-19
2021: Not held due to Covid-19
2022: Ndiga
2023: Ngoonge

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content