Ssemugabi named new Mbarara City captain ahead of Big League season kick off

Jude Semugabi vies for the ball will UPDF's Ibrahim Wammanah

Mbarara City have revealed their 30 man squad for the upcoming FUFA Big League season that kicks off on Thursday.

The Ankole Lions have named striker Jude Ssemugabi as their new club captain to replace Solomon Okwalinga who was skipper in the closing stages of last season.

Defenders Karim Ramathan and Henry Musisi will be the first and second assistant captains respectively.

Newly signed offensive midfielder Lawrence Nduga will be the third assistant captain.

The squad comprises of new faces as the club embarked on an overhaul following the relegation of the club from the Uganda Premier League last season.

Some of the notable new signings include Methodius Jungu and Jamir Nvule Kisitu who were acquired from Soltilo Bright Stars.

Former BUL FC captain Hakim Magombe, Ibrahim Thembo (formerly at Vipers) and striker Med Kyeyune among others.

The Ankole Lions will be coached by Sadick Sempigi as they bid to bounce back to the topflight league.

They will officially begin their campaign against newly promoted side Booma FC at the Kakyeka Stadium in Mbarara this Thursday.

Full Squad

1. Wyclif Mori

2. Karim Ramathan

3. Ivan Otude

4. Ronald Edwok

5. Soulaymane Bamba

6. Lawrence Nduga

7. Jude Ssemugabi

8. Methodius Jungu

9. Henry Kitegenyi

10. Solomon Okwalinga

11. Sadat Nsubuga

12. Isaac Kizza

13. Deo Ntegerize

14. Godfrey Sunday

15. Hamza Mumbere

16. Johny Rubi Mugweri

17. Brian Mugisha Baros

18. Jamir Nvule Kisitu

19. Hakimu Nsamba

20. Hakim Magombe

21. Med Kyeyune

22. Wasswa Shaban

23. Brian Oyuka

24. Ibrahim Thembo

25. Henry Musisi

28. Isaac Kwizera

29. Seiri Arigumaho

30. Brian Kanyesigye

31. Daniel Opio

32. Thomas Kakaire

What do you think?

Written by admin

PEPSI UFL: Dates for Semi-Final ties revealed

KCCA FC confirm awards partner