Ad image

Three new UK based players named in Cranes squad for South Sudan double header



Uganda Cranes coach Jonathan McKinstry has revealed his squad to face South Sudan in the AFCON qualifiers double header slated for 28th and 31st March.

The 20 man squad consists of three new names of players who are based in the United Kingdom.

Ugandan-Nigerian national Uche Mubiru

These include right back Elvis Okello Bwomono of Southend in the League One of England, Jayden Onen of Brentford B and striker Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru.

- Advertisement -
Onen Jayden

Ikpeazu Mubiru, 25 years old, was born in Harrow, London to a Nigerian father and a Ugandan mother. He currently plays for Hearts in Scotland.

Onen is a 19 year old offensive midfielder who was once on the books of the Arsenal Academy.

Bwomono is a 21 year old right back who was born in Uganda but left for England when he was four years old.

- Advertisement -

Among the notable exclusions is Miya Farouk and William Kizito Luwagga who are currently nursing respective injuries in Turkey and Israel.

Isaac Muleme’s place has been taken by Alex Kakuba who turns out for Cova da Piadade in Portugal.

Jamal Salim returns to replace Robert Odongkara who hasn’t had sufficient playing time at Horoya just like Patrick Kaddu.

Murushid Jjuuko and Hassan Wasswa are also club-less and haven’t been considered by McKinstry.

- Advertisement -
Abdu Lumala returns from injury

The players are expected to jet in the country starting on March 23rd.

The 20 players will be joined by five others from the CHAN squad.

Uganda will host South Sudan at Namboole on 28th March before facing off in Khartoum, Sudan on 31st.

The Cranes are top of Group B of the AFCON Qualifiers with four points.

Uche Mubiru celebrates one of his best moments at Hearts in Scotland

Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magola (El Hilal, Sudan)

Alex Kakuba (CD Cova da Piadade, Portugal), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR. Congo), Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (FK Ostersunds, Sweden), Elvis Okello Bwomono (Southend, England), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania), Timothy Awany ( Ashdod SC, Israel), Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland)

Michael Azira (Chichago Fire, USA), Taddeo Lwanga (Tanta SC, Egypt), Khalid Aucho (Misr El Makkasa, Egypt), Moses Waiswa (Supersport United, South Africa)

Allan Okello (Paradou AC), Emmanuel Okwi (El Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Jordan Onen (Brentford B, England), Abdu Lumala (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru (Hearts, Scotland), Alexis Bbakka (UMEA FC, Sweden)

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content