Three penalties awarded as Arua Hill ease past UPDF

Referee Richard Kimbowa awarded three penalties as Arua Hill beat UPDF FC to keep their 100% home record this campaign.


Arua Hill sailed past UPDF FC 3-0 at the Barifa Stadium during their Uganda Premier league contest on Friday.

Goals from skipper Toha Rashid, Gadafi Wahab and Gadafi Kacancu inspired Livingstone Mbabazi coached side to their third victory of the season.

UPDF FC’s Yasin Sabir had his late penalty saved by Richard Anyama.

The home side finished with 10 men following Bright Vuni’s dismissal in the 90th minute.

They also keep their perfect record at home winning all their opening three games. They beat KCCA FC and Maroons with an identical score of 3-1 and now UPDF.

Toha calmly converted from the spot to give the hosts the lead in the 26th minute after Allan Mugalu was fouled in the forbidden area.

The defender was entrusted with the responsibility and stuck his third goal of the campaign.

Samuel Ssekamate and Isaac Ogwang came close to doubling Arua Hill’s lead but were denied by UPDF custodian Simon Mabuya.

In the 66th minute, Kacancu opened his Arua Hill account when he struck past Mabuya to double home side’s lead.

Wahab put the cherry on the icing of the cake from late penalty after his former teammate Ibrahim Magandaazi handled ball inside the box.

The army side was also awarded a 95th minute but Sabir had his spot saved by Arua Hill custodian Anyama who kept his second consecutive clean sheet.

Referee Richard Kimbowa awarded three penalties in Arua Hill’s victory over UPDF

The Kongolo move to 10 points and will travel away to URA on Saturday 12th at Nakisunga Ground while UPDF will host KCCA on Wednesday 9th.

Starting Lineups

Arua Hill XI: Richard Anyama (GK), Atendele Geriga, Richard Matovu, Bright Vuni, Rashid Toha, Gadafi Kacancu, Allan Mugalu, Ivan Eyamu, Rashid Kawawa, Isaac Ogwang, Samuel Ssekamatte.

SUBS: Omedwa Rogers (GK), Rashid Muhamad, Innocent Maduka, Gadafi Wahab, Jacob Kamwesiga, Paul Musamali, Stephen Kabuye.

UPDF XI: Simon Mabuya (GK), Davis Kakaire, Oyirwoth Daglas, Aggrey Kiirya, Ibrahim Magandaazi, Adriko Rogers, Ibrahim Wammanah, Okello Donato, Badru Jibril Nsimbe, Taban Philip, Andrew Kiwanuka.

SUBS: Akweny Paul (GK), Oscar Agaba, Yasin Sabir, Swalik Ssegujja, Faridi Achumu Rashid, Zzinda Hussein.

What do you think?

Written by admin

BUGANDA REGIONAL LEAGUE: Kajjansi United’s Edgar Luzige targets bounce back against Kiwanga

KCCA Vs BLACKS POWER: Byekwaso to fight for job without key forward