Ad image

Watoto Wasoka Slums Derby football tournament officially launched



The 7th edition of the Watoto Wasoka Slums Derby football tournament has officially been launched today 15th May at Yovani Hotel, Kampala.

This year’s event will take place at Kazo playgrounds from 18th to 19th May. The last editions have been in Kisenyi, Mulago, Busega, Kamwokya, Kibuli and Kyambogo.

- Advertisement -

U13 boys will be allowed to participate in the competition and for girls it will be open apart from those on the National team. It will be played in a 7aside format.

Francis Mugoya the executive director Watoto Wasoka, told the press that the major objective for the tourney is to give the underprivileged kids a platform to showcase their talents and help them get scholarships for primary and secondary education

“This football event helps young boys and girls who are underprivileged get a platform to showcase their talents. Many come to this football competition for various reasons, such as educational opportunities, fun, friendship, hope and glory.”

The tournament also prevents the kids from drug abuse and other crimes which could hinder their lives.”

Ashiraf Mugume a Police FC midfielder on loan from Vipers SC, confided  that through this football event, he was able to get various opportunities like education

“The Watoto Wasoka Slums Derby is part of my life since I was able to get a scholarship at Old Kampala Secondary School. It is also the reason that have got a chance to play soccer at the highest level in the country, I call upon the talented boys and girls to come and showcase their potential.”

The event that started in 2013, has been also a turning point to the likes of Keziron Kizito, Mustafa Kizza, Steven Serwadda, Joshua Okiror, Moses Waiswa among others.

On record, since 2013, more than 400 kids have been spotted and accessed bursaries and scholarships through this football festival. 80 teams are expected to take part in the event this year.

Sparta FC won the first edition in 2013 before Super Heroes won it for two consecutive years 2014 and 2015. Uganda Martyrs, KJT and Mustada are the other winners.

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content