Ad image

Yasser Mugerwa, Derrick Were among those recognized at UFL Best of the decade awards


David GOMBE 

The winners of the Pepsi University Football league best of the Decade have been recognized at the awards Gala.

The event was held on Wednesday 7th December 2022 at Imperial Royale Hotel, Kampala.

Nkumba University dominated the awards of the decade.

Former Uganda Christian University captain Derrick Were was named goalkeeper of the decade while Yasser Mugerwa who featured for Nkumba University walked away with the best midfielder gong.

- Advertisement -
Yasser Mugerwa was named the midfielder of the decade

Douglas Muganga (Nkumba) is the defender of the decade whereas Muwawu Faisal also from Nkumba scored the most goals in the decade.

Charles Ayiekoh (MUBS) was named coach of the decade while Ssekandi Joseph (Uganda Martyrs) is the sports tutor.

Derrick Were was the goalkeeper of the decade

•Goalkeeper of the Decade

- Advertisement -

Were Derrick Emmanuel (UCU)

•Defender of the Decade

Muganga Douglas (Nkumba)

•Midfielder of the Decade

Mugerwa Yasser (Nkumba)

- Advertisement -

•Forward of the Decade

Musindo Siraje (MUST)

•Coach of the Decade

Ayiekoh Charles (MUBS)

•Sports Tutor of the Decade

Ssekandi Joseph (Uganda Martyrs)

•Most Goals Scored in the Decade

Muwawu Faisal (Nkumba)

•Team of the Decade

Uganda Martyrs University

•Player of the Decade

Were Emmanuel (UCU)

•Best XI of the Decade

1. Were Emmanuel (UCU)
2. Gift Fred (Bugema)
3. Kawawulo Ismail (MUBS)
4. Muganga Douglas (Nkumba)
5. Akabwai Geoffrey (KIU)
6. Mugerwa Yasser (Nkumba)
7. Kaye Kizito (UCU)
8. Mutyaba Muzamir (KU)
9. Owori Douglas (Uganda Martyrs)
10. Musindo Siraje (MUST)
11. Okot Moses (Uganda Martyrs)

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content