AFCON U20: Uganda Hippos bottle lead against 10-man Congo Brazzaville

By admin
3 Min Read

Sinan Rajub SENOGA

Uganda Hippos were denied a second successive victory at the ongoing AFCON U20 AFCON after being held to a 2-2 draw by Congo Brazzaville at the Suez Canal Stadium in Ismailia, Egypt.

Titus Ssematimba and Said Mayanja scored the goals Uganda in the first half but unfortunately were not enough to seal victory.

Congo took an early lead through striker Josna Loulendo who headed home perfectly from a corner kick in the 6th minute.

Loulendo’s goal came two minutes after Uganda’s John Paul Dembe failed to score from a keeper to beat situation.

- Advertisement -

However, Titus Ssematimba leveled matters with a close range finish from a spilled ball following a Rogers Mugisha delivery in the 11th minute.

Mayanja, who started ahead of Travis Mutyaba, made it 2-1 for Uganda with a tap in from Ismail Mugulusi’s wonderful spadework in the 32nd minute.

Uganda got a numerical advantage after the Congolese captain Claude Ngongara was shown a red card shortly after the halftime whistle was blown for stamping Mayanja.

However despite the numerical difference, Uganda failed to put the game to bed in the second half.

Dembe once again failed to score from another keeper situation as he shot straight to the keeper in the 66th minute.

- Advertisement -

Arnauvy Mombouli scored for Congo Brazzaville with a header from a corner kick and tied the game at 2-2 in the 72nd minute.

Four minutes later, Mugulusi also had an opportunity to score when the keeper spilled the ball in his path. His effort went slightly off target.

Travis Mutyaba and Isa Bugembe were introduced for Said Mayanja and Dembe as Uganda hoped to find the winner. Patrick Kakande was also introduced.

- Advertisement -

The full-time whistle meant that Uganda remained second on the table behind Congo who also have the same points and goal difference.

The Hippos will return to action on Sunday after neighbors South Sudan in a must win game.

Uganda Hippos XI: Abdul Magada, Apollo Kagogwe, Ibrahim Juma, Rogers Torach, Haruna Lukwago, Ivan Irinimbabazi, Rogers Mugisha, Ismail Mugulusi, John Paul Dembe, Titus Ssematimba, Said Mayanja

Share This Article