Masaza Cup: Ssingo thrash Gomba as Bugerere power past holders Bulemeezi

By admin
2 Min Read


Masaza Cup Results for Sunday

Kooki 0-0 Buweekula
Bugerere 3-1 Bulemeezi
Buddu 1-0 Kyadondo.
Ssingo 4-0 Gomba.
Busujju 3 -1 Kabula
Buluuli 2-0 Butambala
Mawokota 1-1 Busiro

Match day two of the prestigious Buganda Masaza Cup was played over the weekend at various Playgrounds.

- Advertisement -

Two time Buganda Masaza Cup winners Ssingo thrashed record winners Gomba 4-0 in Muganzirwaza group on Match day two of the 2024 competition.

Ssingo came into the game back of a goalless draw at Buwekula in their first game while Gomba suffered a 2-0 defeat to Kyaggwe.

Against Gomba, Simon Peter Mugerwa’s charges needed a brace from their starman Joseph Ssewali, Charles Batiibwe and Shaban Kayondo to cruise to their first win of the campaign.

In the same group, Buwekula again struggled to maximize points as they were held to another goalless draw at Kooki.

Kyaggwe needed Hassan Ssentongo and Yusuf Mukwana goals to overcome Mawogola with a 2-1 win. Otti Opio Alex netted for Mawogola.

- Advertisement -

In Bulange group, Buddu edged Kyaddondo 1-0, courtesy of a Joseph Kayondo second half penalty while holders Bulemeezi were thrashed by Bugerere 3-1.

Wamala Henry, Simon Katumba and Ssendi Tonny struck for hosts Bugerere while Masembe George scored Bulemeezi’s only goal.

Buluuli continued to impress with a 2-1 win over Butambala. Ssewanyana Robert and Opar Jacob were the scorers for Buluuli while Isma Kayondo found a consolation for Butambala.

- Advertisement -

Three time winners Mawokota were held by Busiro to a 1-1 draw during a Masengere group contest at Buwama, Micheal Abura scored for the hosts before Conrad Ssenjogera restored parity for the visitors.

Ssese and Buvuma also played out to a 1-1 stalemate in the same group. Muhammad Sabil scored for Ssese while Katamba Brian Henry netted for Buvuma.

Busujju prevailed to their second consecutive win of the competition with a 3-1 win over Kabula. Peter Muduru, Collins Ssenyonga and Lauben Lubwama were Busujju’s scorers while Manul Irival found a consolation for Kabula.

Share This Article
Leave a comment