2022 MASAZA CUP FINAL: Buddu, Busiro vie for glory

By admin
2 Min Read


Saturday, March 4 2023

•Buddu Vs Busiro
(Muteesa II Memorial Stadium at Wankulukuku)

Entrance: 20,000 (ordinary), 50,000 (VIP)

- Advertisement -

Masaza Cup Prize Money:

•Winner – Sh12m
•Runners Up – Sh9m
•Third Place – Sh7m
•Fourth Place – Sh5m

Defending champions Buddu and Busiro will lock horns in the long awaited finale of the 2022 Airtel Masaza Cup on Saturday, 4th March at the Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

His Majesty the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II will grace the epic final.

Buddu advanced to their third successive final after eliminating two time champions Bulemeezi on away goal’s rule following a 2-all aggregate draw in the Semifinal.

- Advertisement -

Buddu are coached by 2020 Masaza Cup winning coach Ibrahim Kirya.

This is also their sixth Masaza Cup having previously featured at the 2015, 2016, 2018, 2020 and 2021.

Busiro under the stewardship of the experienced duo of Simon Peter Mugerwa and Felix Kawooya Ssekabuuza prevailed to their second Masaza Cup final after edging Ssingo 4-3 on aggregate at the Semifinal stage.

- Advertisement -

Busiro is first ever final was the 2019 edition when they lost 1-0 to Bulemeezi.

Buddu are aiming to become th first side to retain the prestigious title.

Busiro on the other hand will be seeking to join Gomba, Mawokota, Bulemeezi, Ssingo, Buddu, Kyadondo, Bululi and Kooki who are the only teams to have won the competition.

Bruno Bunyaga with seven goals will be expected to lift up Buddu while Busiro will bank on Akram Shafic Muzanyi.

Gomba are the record Masaza Cup winners with five championships.

Masaza Cup Cast of All Winners:

2021 – Buddu
2020 – Gomba
2019 – Bulemeezi
2018 – Buddu
2017 – Gomba
2016 – Buddu
2015 – Singo
2014 – Gomba
2013 – Mawokota
2012– Bulemeezi
2011– Bululi
2010– Not Held
2009– Gomba
2008– Kyadondo
2007– Mawokota
2006– Kooki
2005- Mawokota
2004- Gomba

Share This Article