Infantino re-elected as FIFA President

By admin
2 Min Read


Gianni Infantino has been re-elected as FIFA president by acclamation unopposed at the congress in Kigali with another four-year term until 2027.

After scandals that toppled Sepp Blatter and threatened the future of FIFA, Infantino was elected in 2016 to complete the rest of his disgraced predecessor’s term at a special election.

During private meeting overseen by him in Qatar in December, 2022 he disregarded his first three years in power as counting as his first term.

This allows him to stay in power beyond the 12-year limit envisaged in reforms of the scandal-plagued football body he helped to draw up in 2015.

- Advertisement -

In 2019, the Swiss-Italian was re-elected by the FIFA Congress in Qatar for his first full term in office.

Infantino who previously served as the UEFA General Secretary could seek for another four years to run the football governing body from 2027 to 2031.

Meanwhile, the FIFA boss earns around $3m annually.

Former FIFA Presidents

•Robert Guerin, (1904 – 1906)
•Daniel Burley Woolfall, (1906 – 1918
•Jules Rimet, (1921 – 1954)
•Rodolphe William Seeldrayers, (1954 – 1955)
•Arthur Drewry, (1955 – 1961)
•Sir Stanley Rous, (1961 – 1974)
•João Havelange (1974 – 1998)
•Joseph S. Blatter (1998 – 2015)

- Advertisement -
Share This Article