Six nations book 2023 AFCON tickets

By admin
2 Min Read


Holders Senegal and five other nations have qualified for the 2023 AFCON finals after match day three and four.

The six nations who are South Africa, Algeria, Morocco, Burkina Faso, Tunisia and defending champions Senegal joined hosts Ivory Coast who have an automatic slot in the continental showpiece.

Senegal beat Mozambique away from home on match day four courtesy of a Boulaye Dia sole goal.

Dia’s goal ensured that the reigning champions book a place in the Showpiece slated for January next year.

- Advertisement -

Victory saw the Aliou Cisse coached side open an eight point gap in Group L with two games left of their Qualifying campaign.

South Africa (1996 Champions) joined Morocco in Group K after their 2-1 win over Liberia in Monrovia.

Burkina Faso advanced to the AFCON Finals after gaining the needed point over Togo in a Group B contest. They have garnered 10 points and are eight points ahead of the third placed team in the Group with two games left.

Tunisia confirmed their slot in the 2023 AFCON after their 1-0 victory over Libya in Benghazi on Tuesday night.

Algeria booked their ticket with a 1-0 win over Niger in Group F. The result saw them hold on top spot with a maximum 12 points with two matches to spare.

- Advertisement -

2022 World Cup semifinalists Morocco qualified without playing following a stalemate between Liberia and South Africa last week.

Share This Article