Onyango wins tenth South African league title

By admin
1 Min Read


Denis Onyango’s Mamelodi Sundowns clinched the South African Premiership title without kicking the ball.

The Brazilians won the title following a draw between SuperSport United and Chippa United on Saturday.

The two sides played out to a 1-1 stalemate in Gqebertha.

SuperSport United were the only side who were mathematically in the title race.

- Advertisement -

They started the game second on the log but after their stalemate on Saturday, they slipped to fourth.

The Brazilians have now won the league title for a sixth time in succession and their 16th overall, three more than Kaizer Chiefs.

Sundowns were in the CAF Champions league over the weekend will next play their league game on Tuesday at home to Cape Town City.

The Brazilians are on 59 points on the Premiership table and are on course of finishing with the most number of points for a South African Champion.

Share This Article