5 Nations to Battle for Victoria Series title

By admin
4 Min Read


The second edition of the Victoria Series will be hosted by Uganda Cricket Association from April 16th – 23rd at the Lugogo Cricket Oval. The second edition will feature five nations: Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, and the UAE. UAE is visiting Uganda for the 1st time and enters the tournament as the highest-ranked team in the T20 global rankings on the 15th, followed by Tanzania on the 16th, Uganda on the 21st, Kenya at the 23rd, and Rwanda on the 26th.

The tournament has T20 international status therefore there are ranking points at stake for the teams that are able to defeat those that are above them. UAE comes into the tournament as the favorites and they will have a mark on their backs.

The action will start on Tuesday 18/04/2023 with two games each day until Saturday 22/04/2023 and the final on Sunday afternoon 23/04/2023.

The teams will play in a round-robin format with the top two sides qualifying for the final. UAE will be counting on ICC Associate Women’s Cricketer of the year 2022 Esha Oza and Therertha Sathish and Kavisha Kumari who have been part of the fair break tournament in Hong Kong this month. Rwanda is the lowest rank team in the tournament but has been improving as a team and the recently voted ICC Women’s Cricketer for the month of March Henriette Ishimwe will be a key player for them alongside U-19 World Cup Captain Gisele Ishimwe.

- Advertisement -

Uganda has named the same team that won the Quadrangular tournament in Kenya in December with Consy Aweko still in charge of the side. Janet Mbabazi who was recently voted by USPA as the Female Cricketer of the Year for 2022 will be the go-to player for the team but she is the fine company of the experience of Immaculate Nakisuyi and Stephanie Nampiima.

Tanzania has a great mix of youth and experience with the legend Fatuma Kibasu leading the team that has exciting talent such as Hurda Mrisho and Vanessa Mtae.

They might have lost to both Kenya and Uganda in the Quadrangular in December last year and a chance in the team resources might bring them a different fortune. Kenya is trying to rise out of the ashes and such events give them an opportunity to remain relevant since they can no longer take part in ICC events due to the lack of a local league for their ladies’ team. They will be without Queentor Abel but in her absence, Sharon Juma will lead the side.

Full Teams:

UAE: Chaya Mughal (Captain), Esha Oza, Kavisha Kumari Nanayakkarewasan Egodage, Theertha Satish, Kushi Mohan Sharma, Lavanya Keny, Vaishnave Mahesh, Indhuja Nandakumar, Archara Supriya, Avanee Sunil Patil, Sanchin, Geethika Jyothis, Rintha Rajith, Rishitha Rajith

- Advertisement -

Rwanda: Sarah Uwera, Diana Marie Bimenyimana (Captain), Alice Ikuzwe, Gisele Ishimwe, Merveille Uwase, Belise Murekatete, Clarrise Umutoniwase, Margueritte Vumiliya, Geovanis Uwase, Josiane Nyirakundineza, Sifa Ngabire, Henritte Therese Ishimwe, Rosine Irera, Immaculee Muhawenimana

Uganda: Consy Aweko (Captain), Janet Mbabazi, Evelyn Anyipo, Irene Alumo, Patricia Malemikia, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Stephanie Nampiina, Gloria Obukor, Kevin Awino, Phiona Egaru Khulume, Sarah Akiteng, Rita Musamali.

Tanzania: Fatuma Omary Kibasu (Captain), Hudaa Mrisho, Neema Justine, MwanaidiAmmy Swedy, Monica Pascal Iddi, Saum Mtae, Sophia Frank Jerome, Shufaa Mohamedi, Zakayo, Kamunya, Agnes Joseph Qwele, Josephine Shirima, Mwapwani Mohamedi, Sonia Chachala, Josephine Shirima

- Advertisement -

Kenya: Sharon Juma (Captain), Daisy Njoroge, Venasa Ooko, Esther Wachira, Lavendah Idambo, Flavia Odhiambo, Ann Wanjira, Faith Mwende, Monica Ndhambi, Lynz Nabwire, Charity Muthoni, Kelvia Ogola, Mercy Ahono, Marion Juma. Fixtures:

Share This Article