Chameleone’s father reveals how he designed the Bika Football shield

By admin
4 Min Read


Buganda Kingdom has a couple of unsung heroes in the various sectors such as sports, politics, education among others.

In the sporting arena, Gerald Mayanja the father to musicians Jose Chameleone, Pallaso and Weasel designed the Bika football shield in 1987.

Gerald Mayanja designed the Bika football shield in 1987, it is currently contested for in the Netball competition

During his interview with BBS Terefayina, Mayanja asserted that in 1987, he was approached by the Bika competitions Committee that was then led by late Luyimbazi Mugalu and John Ssebana Kizito to design the shield

“I started following the Bika competition in 1987 when my clan won the event. In the same year, I was approached and asked by the organizing committee by then, if I could design the shield.”

- Advertisement -

“They gave me the go ahead to design and after  give them samples, so that they can approve it.” Mr. Godfrey Kirumira confirmed to them that he was to pay for the shield. He called me and gave me money that helped in accomplishing the work.”

Mayanja believes designing the Bika shield is one of the monumental achievements in his life

“Designing the Bika shield went in history and will always be part of the legacy that I will leave behind.” I know even at the time of my death they will talk about it.” Said Mayanja.

Mr. Mayanja has however called upon the current organizing Bika Bya’baganda competitions Committee to continue using the group stage format for the good of the championship.

The 1987 version was battled for in the Bika football competition for over 34 years until the Kingdom resorted to the first version last year.

- Advertisement -
The first version of the Bika shield is currently used in football competition

Currently the 1987 version is being awarded to the winners of the Bika Netball championship.

For starters, Charles Sseriiso a resident of Kansanga Kitalanga in Kampala city kept the first version of the Bika football shield for over 20 years between 1965 and 1987 during the political turmoil in Buganda Kingdom.

Former Bika Football Winners:

- Advertisement -

1950: Mbogo
1951: Ngabi Nsamba
1952: Mmamba Gabunga
1953: Not Held
1954: Not Held
1955: Kkobe
1956: Mmamba Gabunga
1957: Nyonyi Nyange
1958: Ngeye
1959: Mmamba Gabunga
1960: Ffumbe
1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
1962: Nkima
1963: Not Held
1964: Mmamba Gabunga
1965: Mmamba Gabunga
1966 – 1986: Not Held
1987: Ngabi Nsamba
1988: Lugave
1989: Mmamba Gabunga
1990: Lugave
1991: Ngeye
1992: Ngeye
1993: Nkima
1994: Mmamba Gabunga
1995: Lugave
1996: Mpindi
1997: Nnyonyi
1998: Lugave
1999: Lugave
2000: Mpologoma
2001: Ngo
2002: Mpologoma
2003: Mmamba Gabunga
2004: Lugave
2005: Ffumbe
2006: Mpindi
2007: Ngabi Nsamba
2008: Kkobe
2009: Ffumbe
2010: Nte
2011: Mmamba Gabunga
2012: Ngeye
2013: Ngabi Nsamba
2014: Mmamba Gabunga
2015: Mbogo
2016: Nte
2017: Nte
2018: Nkima
2019: Mbogo
2020: Not held
2021: Not held
2022: Ndiga

Share This Article