Golf: Abeja, Katutsi excel at 2023 Absa Bank Captain’s Bell tournament

By admin
4 Min Read


Vincent Katutsi and Anne Abeja emerged as the overall winners of the amateur event of the 2023 Absa Bank Captain’s Bell tournament that was held on Saturday at Uganda Golf Club in Kampala.

Katutsi clinched the men’s category after posting a nett score of 66 in the main event.

Abeja a former Lady captain at Uganda Golf Club was the overall winner in the ladies category with a score of 69.

The two winners were rewarded with a golf bag, two umbrellas, a trophy and other prizes from main sponsors Absa Bank Uganda.

- Advertisement -

Uganda Golf Club captain, Emmanuel Wamala thanked main sponsors Absa Bank Uganda and other partners for their generous support towards the event

“We acknowledge and appreciate a very generous support from our esteemed sponsor Absa Bank, without them this event wouldn’t have been possible.”

“This is the time when we reflect upon the year (tenure in office) that has been and set the agenda for the next year. Looking back on the year that has passed, I am filled with pride and gratitude for what we have achieved with Uganda Golf Club. I am hopeful that we will achieve more in the second year.” Wamala asserted.

Uganda Golf Club captain Emmanuel Wamala

Absa Bank Uganda’s Managing Director, Mumba Kalifungwa expressed his commitment toward the tournament.

“As the official banking sponsor, Absa Bank Uganda is proud to be associated with this tournament and to once again be a part of this competition and we hope to be part of this competitions for the next three years,” Kalifungwa said before adding.

- Advertisement -
Absa Bank Uganda managing director Mumba Kalifungwa in action

“By increasing the sponsorship budget from 57.8 Million last year to 133 Million this year, we are demonstrating our believe in Uganda Golf Club and the beautiful game of golf.” He noted

Marvin Kibirige emerged champion in the professional category that teed-off two days earlier. After two rounds (Thursday and Friday), Kibirige shot an overall 6 under par 138 (63 & 75) to take the biggest chunk of UGX 10,000,000 kitty that was competed for by the  professionals.

Meanwhile in the main event, the famous Piga Mingi award was taken by Sylvia Bideri who shot a nett score of 102. She was rewarded at the 19th with the hopes that he game will get better in the near future.

- Advertisement -

For the side bets, the ladies’ nearest to the pin award was taken by Annette Kiconco while David Mureithi took ther men’s award. Ladies’ longest drive award was won by Caroline Namutebi while Tarzan Lubega took the men’s gong.

In the seniors category, the winners were; Jennifer Opio (ladies) with 75 nett and former captain Jackson Karyarugookwe (men) with 71 nett.

The ladies group winners were; Group A – Mackline Nsenga with 72 c/b and Group B – Gertrude Kityo with 70 c/b.

Several winners at the tournament display their silverware during the 19th hole experience.
In the men’s groups, Group A was won by Charles Mubiru off 68 nett, Group B was won by Abe Luka with 70 nett while Group C was won by Tushar Mashru with 69 nett.

Share This Article