Uganda to Host ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers

By admin
1 Min Read


Uganda has been selected to host the final round for the Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers from Dec 7th – 18th 2023.

There will be eight teams in the tournament which will include Zimbabwe, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Nigeria, Namibia, and two teams that will come from the Div. 2 Qualifiers in Botswana in October.

“We are excited to host the T20 Women’s Qualifiers; this shows the faith that ICC has in our capacity to host an event of this magnitude. The work for us starts immediately to prepare the grounds and also ensure we get local partners to come on board and support us. Last year we did well hosting the Challenge B tournament therefore we commit to giving local cricket fans a good experience this time around” Joshua Mwanja Operations Manager of Uganda Cricket Association.

The top two sides from the Qualifiers from Kampala will qualify for the Global Qualifiers to represent Africa. Uganda has been to the global qualifiers in 2018 in the Netherlands after winning the African regional qualifiers in Namibia in 2017.

- Advertisement -

The Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be held in Bangladesh.

Share This Article