Maestro Cheptegei eyes third straight 10000m World title

By admin
2 Min Read


Uganda’s long-distance maestro Joshua Cheptegei will be seeking a third 10000m title on Sunday evening (7:25PM) at the ongoing World Athletics Championship in Hungary, Budapest.

Cheptegei has won the previous two 10000m World titles (2019 and 2022).

At the Budapest event, the Ugandan will be aiming to join Mo Farah who won the title three times (2013, 2015 and 2017).

Only the Ethiopian duo of Haile Gebrselassie and Kenesia Bekele have won the 10000m race four times each.

- Advertisement -

Gebrselassie won it in 1993, 1995, 1997 and 1999 while his fellow countryman Bekele won the race in 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2009.

His triumph in USA last year, saw him become the fourth man in history to defend the 10000m title after Gebrselasie, Bekele and Mo Farah.

Cheptegei is an accomplished long-distance runner, arguably the greatest of his time on the track.

The multiple World Champion has won over 22 races between 2018 and 2022.

Meanwhile, his compatriot Jacob Kiplimo will miss the event through injury.

- Advertisement -

Kiplimo won bronze at the distance in Oregon last year finishing behind Kenya’s Stanley Mbulu.

Rogers Kibet and Joel Ayeko are the other Ugandans who will take part in the race.

Cheptegei and Co will face stiff competition from 10000m Olympic Champion Selemon Barega (Ethiopia) and Berihu Aregawi (Ethiopia).

- Advertisement -

Aregawi has a World Leading time of 26:50.66 while Kenya also have a strong team that comprises of Bernard Kibet, Nicholas Kipkorir and Daniel Simiu.

This will as well be Cheptegei’s last World Athletics Championship on the track.

He is set to make his Marathon debut in December in Valencia, the same city where he set his 10000m record in 2020.

MEN’S 10000M – World Champions

•Oregon 2022: Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)
•Doha 2019: Joshua Cheptegei (UGA)
•London 2017: Mo Farah (GBR)
•Beijing 2015: Mo Farah (GBR)
•Moscow 2013: Mo Farah (GBR)
•Daegu 2011: Ibrahim Jeilan (ETH)
•Berlin 2009: Kenenisa Bekele (ETH)
•Osaka 2007: Kenenisa Bekele (ETH)

Share This Article