Nkumba, UCU vie for Pepsi University Football League supremacy

By admin
3 Min Read


Pepsi University Football League Final
Nkumba Vs UCU
Venue: Philip Omondi Stadium
Time: 3PM

Nkumba University will be seeking for their maiden Pepsi University Football League title when they battle Uganda Christian University in the epic final on Saturday at Philip Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

Nkumba have agonisingly twice come close to clinching the title in 2013 and 2016 respectively.

- Advertisement -

They lost both finals to Kampala University and will now be aiming to secure their first ever title against UCU.

UCU are previous winners of the prestigious University football competition in 2019 when they overcame St.Lawrence University 2-1 in the final.

UCU are aiming to join Makerere University Business School, Uganda Martyrs University and Kampala University as multiple University Football League champions.

Road to the Final

Nkumba were in Group E that had St.Lawrence University, Gulu University and IUEA. They finished second with 13 points with SLAU finishing top of the group

- Advertisement -

In the Quarterfinal stage, they prevailed over holders Uganda Martyrs University 2-1 on aggregate setting up a semifinal meeting with Kampala University.

They cruised 2-1 past Kampala University over two legs.

Nkumba 1-1 UMU
UMU 0-1 Nkumba

- Advertisement -

KU 0-1 Nkumba
Nkumba 1-1 KU

Games Played – 10
Won 6
Drew 3
Lost 1,
Goals Scored – 16
Goals Conceded – 7
Clean sheets – 5

UCU on the other hand have finished top of Group D with 11 points, they group comprised of Busitema, KIU and Kumi University.

In the Quarterfinal, they eliminated inaugural competition winners Makerere University on away goals rule after a 2-2 all draw on aggregate.

They overcame two title winners MUBS 2-1 on aggregate in the semifinal stage.

Makerere 2-1 UCU
UCU 1-0 Makerere


Games Played – 10
Won 5
Drew 3
Lost 2
Goals Scored – 18
Goals Conceded – 8
Clean Sheets – 4

Key Players

Nkumba will look up to Irvine Mamur who has so far netted five goals alongside with Isaac Musuga for inspiration.

UCU will have their hopes of a second University league title in their top scorer Geoffrey Gagganga (6 goals) and Isaac Ofoywroth (5 goals) along with Allan Opio (4 goals).

Past Winners

2022- UMU
2021-Not Held due to Covid
2020- Not Held due Covid
2019- UCU
2018- Kyambogo University
2017- Uganda Martyrs University
2016- Kampala University
2015- Makerere University Business School
2014- Makerere University Business School
2013- Kampala University
2012- Makerere University

Share This Article