Uganda Cricket Association name Sharma as Lawrence Mahatlane’s replacement

By admin
3 Min Read


Uganda Cricket Association has confirmed the appointment of Abhay Sharma as the new permanent head coach for the Uganda national Cricket team ( Cricket Cranes).

Sharma replaces South African Lawrence Mahatlane who parted company with the Uganda Cricket Association last year.

The new tactician has been appointed on a three year employment contract by the Uganda Cricket Association.

The announcement came in with just less than two months to ICC T20 Cricket World Cup which will take place in West Indies.

- Advertisement -

Jackson Ogwang who has been serving as the interim coach will serve as Sharma’s assistant for now before the Indian names his technical team.

Sharma has huge expertise in teaching cricket as he holds a level III Indian Coaching license with great working experience.

“I’m very grateful to UCA for this chance to work with a bunch of Cricket talents in Uganda. ” he said

“It is now my second residence here having been in Uganda for the previous two days. I am already feeling at home ahead of this job and I promise I will do my greatest to see Uganda performing highly” he concluded

Thé Cricket Cranes will keep on training as they prepare for the ICC T20 World Cup with hopes of having a training camp in India.

- Advertisement -

Uganda Cricket Cranes who will be making their maiden appearance will take on 2021 finalists New Zealand (Blackcaps), co-hosts & 2-time winners Windies Cricket, Afghanistan Cricket and Papua New Guinea in Group C.

The T20 World Cup 2024 group stage will be held from June 1 to 18, followed by the Super Eight phase from June 19 to 24. The semi-finals will be on June 26 and 27 in Guyana and Trinidad, respectively, while the final will be on June 29 in Barbados.

The 2024 T20 World Cup Groups

- Advertisement -

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Share This Article