Record winners Mamba Gabunga, Butiko set for 2024 Bika Opening duel at Wankulukuku

By admin
2 Min Read


Netball Final: Mmamba Gabunga Vs Nnyonyi Nyange (12PM)
Football: Mmamba Gabunga Vs Butiko (3 PM)
Fees: 10,000/= (Ordinary) & 20,000/= (VIP)
Venue: Mutesa II Wankulukuku Stadium, Kabowa

The 50th edition of the Bika Bya Baganda Football competition will officially kickoff on Saturday, 27th with record winners Mmamba Gabunga taking on Butiko at Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

Hajji Sulaiman Magala, the chairman organizing committee Bika Bya Baganda has called upon Kabaka’s subjects to come and grace the opener.

- Advertisement -

“The preparations are done for the Bika Football opener. I only urge Kabaka’s subjects across the country to come and grace the opening game of the 50th edition of the competition.” Said Magala

Mmamba Gabunga are the record competition winners with 10 shields and will be facing off with Butiko for the first time in history.

Meanwhile, the Final of the 2024 Bika Netball will be on Saturday with record winners Mmamba Gabunga taking Nnyonyi Nyange.

Mmamba Gabunga eliminated defending champions Ngeye 21-19 while Nnyonyi Nyange who finished as runners up in 2023 ejected Njovu 35-26.

The Bika football championship started way back in 1950 with Mbogo clan (Buffalo) as the first champions.

- Advertisement -

BIKA All Winners since inception:

1951:Ngabi Nsamba
1952:Mmamba Gabunga
1953: Not Held
1954:Not Held
1956:Mmamba Gabunga
1957: Nyonyi Nyange
1958: Ngeye
1959: Mmamba Gabunga
1960: Ffumbe
1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe
1962: Nkima
1963: Not Held
1964: Mmamba Gabunga
1965: Mmamba Gabunga
1987: Ngabi Nsamba
1988: Lugave
1989: Mmamba Gabunga
1990: Lugave
1991: Ngeye
1992: Ngeye
1993: Nkima
1994: Mmamba Gabunga
1995: Lugave
1996: Mpindi
1997: Nnyonyi
1998: Lugave
1999: Lugave
2000: Mpologoma
2001: Ngo
2002: Mpologoma
2003: Mmamba Gabunga
2005: Ffumbe
2006: Mpindi
2007: Ngabi Nsamba
2008: Kkobe
2009: Ffumbe
2010: Nte
2011: Mmamba Gabunga
2012: Ngeye
2013: Ngabi Nsamba
2014: Mmamba Gabunga
2015: Mbogo
2016: Nte
2017: Nte
2018: Nkima
2019: Mbogo
2020: Not played (Due to COVID-19 pandemic)
2021: Not played (Due to COVID-19 pandemic)
2022: Ndiga
2023: Ngoonge

Share This Article