Two time Olympic champion Kipchoge leads Kenya’s marathon team for Paris Games

By admin
1 Min Read


Kenya Olympic Committee has named the marathon team for the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris.

Two time defending Olympic champion Eliud Kipchoge leads men’s list for the East African nation.

Kipchoge who will be targeting a third Olympic marathon triumph will be joined by Benson Kipruto, Vincent Kipkemoi Ngetich, Alexander Mutiso. Timothy Kiplagat has been listed as a reserve.

At the Tokyo Games, Kipchoge joined a select group of runners who have successfully defended the Olympic marathon title. The others are Ethiopia’s Abebe Bikila (1960 and 1964) and East Germany’s Waldemar Cierpinski (1976 and 1980).

- Advertisement -

Kipchoge was expected to compete with record Marathon holder, the late Kelvin Kiptum at the Paris Games.

Kiptum died in a road accused in February, just five months after he had broke Kipchoge’s world record in a time of 2:00:35 at the 2023 Chicago Marathon.

The women’s marathon team comprises of olympic champion Peres Jepchirchir and Hellen Obiri.

The team also comprised of Ruth Chepngetich, Rosemary Wanjiru and Sharon Lokedi.

Kenya Marathon Teams

- Advertisement -


•Eliud Kipchoge
•Vincent Kipkemoi Ngetich
•Timothy Kiplagat
•Benson Kipruto
•Alexander Mutiso


- Advertisement -

•Ruth Chepngetich
•Brigid Kosgei
•Hellen Obiri
•Rosemary Wanjiru
•Sharon Lokedi
•Peres Jepchirchir

Share This Article