SC Villa end 20 year title wait

By admin
2 Min Read
SC Villa clinched the 2023/24 Uganda Premier league title


UPL Final Day Results

•NEC 0-2 SC Villa
•Vipers 4-1 Mbarara City
•Busoga United 0-3 BUL FC
•Maroons 1-1 KCCA FC
•Wakiso Giants 0-1 UPDF FC
•URA FC 1-1 Soltilo Bright Stars
•Kitara 3-0 Gaddafi FC

*SC Villa are the Champions
• Gaddafi, Busoga United have been relegated

- Advertisement -

SC Villa ended a 20 year wait without winning the Uganda Premier league title after clinching a record extending 17th title.

The Jogoos needed a 2-0 victory over NEC FC at Philip Omondi Stadium in Lugogo on the final day of the 2023/24 campaign.

Second half goals from Charles Lwanga and Hakim Kiwanuka saw Dusan Stojanovic’s charges secure the title for the first time since 2024.

Katikkiro of Buganda Kingdom Charles Peter Mayiga and SC Villa President Omar Mandela

Lwanga sent Villa fans into elation when he headed a perfect Umar Lutalo cross in the 67th minute.

Kiwanuka sealed the victory with 15 minutes to normal time after being fed by Villa’s starman Patrick Jonah Kakande.

- Advertisement -

To win the title, SC Villa finished with 57 points while BUL FC were second on 56 points. BUL thrashed Busoga United 3-0 on the final day at Njeru Technical centre courtesy of Lawrence Tezikya and Jeromy Kirya goals.

Vipers who have been the previous winners for the last two seasons finished third on 56 points. The Venoms ended their league campaign with a 4-1 comfortable win against Mbarara City at Kitende with Milton Karisa, Abdul Karim Watambala scoring.

Before Saturday’s historic triumph in 20 years, SC Villa had previously won the title in 1982,1984,1986,1987,1988, 1989,1990,1992,1994,1998,1999,2000,2001,2002,2002-2003 and 2003-2004.

- Advertisement -

Clubs with most UPL titles

SC Villa – 17
KCCA – 13
Express – 7
Vipers – 6
URA – 4
Maroons – 2
Simba – 2
Coffee FC – 1
Nile Breweries – 1
Police – 1
UCB – 1

Share This Article
Leave a comment