Uganda learn 2025 AFCON Qualification route

By admin
2 Min Read


The 2025 AFCON Qualification Draw has been held on Thursday, 4th July in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Uganda have been drawn in Group K alongside 1996 African champions South Africa, regional neighbours South Sudan and Congo Brazzaville.

The Uganda Cranes have missed out on qualifying for the showpiece in the previous two editions.

The draw was conducted by reigning AFCON winning coach Emerse Fae and Moroccan legend Marouane Chamakh.

- Advertisement -

48 national teams were seeded into four pots of twelve each based on the most recent FIFA World rankings.

Match-days 1 and 2 of the qualifiers are slated for 2 -10 September 2024 whereas Match-days 3 and 4 will be played on 7–15 October 2024.

Match-days 5 and 6 are scheduled for 11–19th November 2024.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the continental showpiece that will be staged in Morocco between 21 December 2025 and 18th January 2026.

The Groups

- Advertisement -

Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, Gambia

Group B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho

Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana

- Advertisement -

Group D: Nigeria, Benin, Libya, Rwanda

Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia

Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger

Group G: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Siera Leone, Chad

Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia

Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini

Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe

Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan

Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

Share This Article
Leave a comment