URA FC stand in Villa’s chance of lifting title number 17

By admin
3 Min Read


Jackson Magera and his young side have an enormous opportunity to engrain their names in the hearts of the modern SC Villa fans, most of whom were not old enough when the record league champions last lifted the league title 19 years ago.

They go into match day 30, two points ahead of defending champions Vipers SC and initial bookies favourites KCCA FC.

Villa will take to Wankulukuku tomorrow well aware of the threat URA FC posses after thumping Gaddafi FC 4-0 in their recent league match .

The tax collectors have blown hot and cold this term but remain the only side to have picked a point off Vipers at Kitende this term.

They currently sit 6th and would love to finish a little higher on the table and victory would possibly push them up to 4th place.

- Advertisement -


In the first round meeting, the two sides played to a 1-1 draw and a reciprocal of that result would spell doom depending on results at Kitende and Lugogo.

Villa have not beaten URA in the last 7 meetings with the tax collectors winning on three occasions and the rest draws.


Enterprising youngster Travis Mutyaba has had some light training for the last two days and he may stand a chance to play a role in this game.

- Advertisement -

Former URA midfielder Ivan Serubiri stands a chance to make the match day squad after training fully with the team. He , like Mutyaba have missed the previous two games through injury.

Marauding left back Umaru Lutalo is ruled out through suspension.

The match also comes too soon for right back Tabu Oryem who limped off in the victory against UPDF at Bombo.

- Advertisement -

For URA, wingman Kabon Living, goalkeeper Hannington Sebwalunyo and striker Alfred Leku have been ruled out but left back Derrick Ndahiro returns to face his former paymasters.

The last time SC Villa beat URA FC was in February 2018 in Masaka. Martin Kizza scored a brace and Yubu Bogere grabbed the other to ensure a 3-0 win for the Jogoos.

Back row: John Adriko, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Henry Katongole, Nicholas Kasozi, Mukasa Musa, Allan Kyambadde, Bernard Muwanga. Front: Alex Kitatta, Martin Kizza, Samson Kirya, Abel Eturude


Share This Article