FUBA names Silverbacks Squad for 2025 Afrobasket Qualifiers

By admin
2 Min Read


The Federation of Uganda Basketball Association (FUBA) has confirmed the squad for Uganda Men’s national basketball team, the Silverbacks for the forthcoming 2025 Afrobasket Qualifiers.

The named squad is headlines by NBA star Ishmael Wainwright and Adam Seiko will battle it out alongside Cape Verde and Nigeria in group B.

Other summoned players on the squad include City Oilers quintet of Bbale Fayed, Titus Odeke, Okello James, Tony Drileba and Ivan Muhwezi.

KIU Titians duo of Munaba Edgar and Mugerwa Stanley also make the shortlist while the foreign based legion of Robinson Opong Odoch, Womala Emmanuel and Brandon Ssebirumbi along with Ish Wainwright and Adam Seiko complete the list.

- Advertisement -

In Group B, Uganda will face tough competition from Cape Verde, Nigeria, and the Zone 1/2 winner of the Morocco-Libya clash.

Twenty national teams, divided into five groups of four will tussle it out, with each team facing an opponent in the group twice in a tournament format over three windows all through to 2025.

The first window will get underway from 19th – 27th February while the second and third will take place from 18th to 26th November and 17th to 25th February 2025 respectively.

After the qualifiers, 16 teams will qualify for Africa’s premier basketball tourney.

The Silverbacks, against all odds finished sixth overall after losing to Cape Verde in the quarter finals at the 2021 Afrobasket in Kigali Rwanda.

- Advertisement -

The Silverbacks Squad:

*Ivan Muhwezi (City Oilers)
*Fayed Baale (City Oilers)
*James Okello (City Oilers)
*Tony Drilleba (City Oilers)
*Stanley Mugerwa (KIU Titans)
*Titus Lual Odeke (City Oilers)
*Edgar Munaaba (KIU Titans)
*Joel Kayiira (UCU Canons)
*Robinson Opong
*Emmanuel Womala
*Adam Seiko
*Ishmail Wainwright
*Brandon Ssebirumbi

Coaches – Mande Juruni (Kepler University, Rwanda) and Andrew Tendo (City Oilers

- Advertisement -
Share This Article