Uganda Hippos to take part in Invitational tournament in Ethiopia 

By admin
3 Min Read

David GOMBE 

FUFA has confirmed that the Uganda Hippos (U-20 national team) will take part in the invitational tournament in Ethiopia.

The tournament dubbed as Dire Cup is organized for the inauguration of the new Dire Sawa Stadium in Ethiopia and will take part from 24th-28th February 2024.

It will comprise of four team which are hosts Ethiopia, Uganda, Kenya and Djibouti.

The development was confirmed by the FUFA Communications Director Ahmed Hussein

- Advertisement -

“The Gofere branded kits will be used between now and until the end of the All Africa Games period only. The Hippos teams has already started using the kits in the training sessions. We are glad that the tournament will help to fine-tune the men’s team before flying out to Accra.” Said Hussein as quoted by the FUFA website

The team is under the stewardship of SC Villa assistant coach Morley Byekwaso Ochama and will travel to Ethiopia on Wednesday 21st February 2024 before their opening fixture on Friday.

The Uganda men’s and women’s U20 teams are currently preparing for the forthcoming All Africa Games in Ghana.

In Ghana, Uganda will be in Group B alongside Nigeria, South Sudan, Senegal and Tunisia.

The tournament will take place between 7th -24th March 2024 in Accra, Ghana.

- Advertisement -

Provisional Squad


Abdu Magada (Gaddafi FC, Uganda), Shamulan Kamya (Soltilo Bright Stars FC, Uganda), Delton Oyo (SC Villa, Uganda), Humphrey Oyirwoth (Bukedea Comprehensive School, Uganda), Henry Mwebe (Wembley Boys FC, Uganda)

- Advertisement -


Haruna Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda), Louis Anguti Amagu (Lugazi FC, Uganda), Innocent Biyika (Maroons FC, Uganda), Ibrahim Juma (CD Leganes, Spain), Enock Luyima (Vipers SC, Uganda), Jimmy Ndalambi (Gaddafi FC, Uganda), Ronald Madoi (SFK Pierikos, Greece), Apollo Kagogwe (Wakiso Giants FC, Uganda), Cyrus Kibande (SC Villa, Uganda), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC, Uganda), Allan Enyou (CD Leganes, Spain)


Frank Katongole (Vipers SC, Uganda), John Innocent Kisolo (URA FC, Uganda), Charles Okello Batiibwe (SC Villa, Uganda), Ivan Irinimbabazi (SFK Pierikos, Greece), Saidi Mayanja (KCCA FC, Uganda), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants FC, Uganda), Allan Oyirwoth (Brook House College and Football Academy, United Kingdom), Marvin Nyanzi (Wakiso Giants FC, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (FK Riteriai, Lithuania), Travis Mutyaba (Zamalek SC, Uganda), Geremi Bamwine (Aspire Football Academy, Qatar), Umar Lutalo (SC Villa, Uganda), Hakim Mutebi (SC Villa, Uganda), George Isiagi Okwakol (Brook House College and Football Academy, United Kingdom)


Arafat Usama Kizza (KCCA FC, Uganda), Shafiq Magogo (Kitara FC, Uganda), Ibrahim Kasinde (Soltilo Bright Stars FC, Uganda), Abbas Kyeyune (SC Villa, Uganda), Patrick Jonah Kakande (SC Villa, Uganda), Rogers Mugisha (AC Horsens, Denmark), Alpha Thierry Ssali (Express FC, Uganda), Bruno Bunyaga (URA FC, Uganda), Darious Ojok (Maroons FC, Uganda)

Share This Article