Cricket Cranes flagged off for T20 World Cup

By admin
2 Min Read


The State Minister of Sports Peter Ogwang has flagged off the Cricket Cranes ahead of their maiden appearance at the 2024 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup, scheduled for June 1-29 in the West Indies and United States.

The Cricket Cranes are Pitted against two-time winners and hosts West Indies, Papua New Guinea, Afghanistan, and New Zealand in Group C.

The team has been training for the last six months, including camps in Sri Lanka and India, as well as competing in this year’s African Games.

The team will depart for Guyana tomorrow, Wednesday 22nd and will participate in two warm-up games against Namibia on May 28 and Scotland on May 30 before opening their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan on June 4 at the Providence Stadium.

- Advertisement -

Abhay Sharma is the head coach of the team that will be captained by Brian Masaba, with Riazat Ali Shah as vice-captain. The squad also includes Kenneth Waiswa, Dinesh Nakrani, Ronak Patel, Roger Mukasa, Cosmas Kyewuta, Bilal Hassun, Fred Achelam, Robinson Obuya, Simon Ssesazi, Henry Ssenyondo, Alpesh Ramjani, and Juma Miyagi.

The T20 World Cup 2024 group stage will be held from June 1 to 18, followed by the Super Eight phase from June 19 to 24. The semi-finals will be on June 26 and 27 in Guyana and Trinidad, respectively, while the final will be on June 29 in Barbados.

The 2024 T20 World Cup Groups

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

- Advertisement -

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Share This Article
Leave a comment