Ssekajugo fires Ngabi Nsamba to 2024 Airtel Bika glory

By admin
5 Min Read


• Ngabi Nsamba 1-0 Mpindi

The 2024 Airtel-Bika Tournament climaxed at Wankulukuku Stadium on Saturday, 8th June with Ngabi Nsamba clan emerging as the champions.

Viane Ssekajugo netted the all important goal as Ngabi Nsamba Clan secured their fifth title with a 1-0 victory over Mpindi.

- Advertisement -

The Airtel-BIKA tournament is a grassroots sports initiative aimed at bringing clans together for cultural and socio-economic purposes and has been a symbol of fostering a spirit of unity and community in the kingdom and the country as a whole.

The game was graced by Archbishop of Church of Uganda His Grace Stephen Kazimha Mugalu of Mpindi clan.

Ali Balunywa, the Sales and Distribution Director at Airtel Uganda, expressed his delight and congratulated all the teams and players for showcasing great talent and resilience throughout the tournament.

“It’s exciting to see such talent on display at this tournament. I congratulate the 2024 champions Ngabi Nsamba Clan. The dedication, hard work, and resilience showcased by the Bika teams have been truly humbling. Through the Airtel Bika Tournament, we’re glad to witness the growth of sports like football and netball, which have a huge following among Ugandans. This, in turn, creates a valuable pool of talent for our national teams to scout for representatives at both national and international levels.”

He added “Airtel Uganda takes pride in such activities that not only promote togetherness among people but also serve as a source of entertainment within communities. These platforms also give the youth a ‘Reason to Imagine’ by providing opportunities to showcase their talents, which can later make them successful sports figures in the country.”

- Advertisement -

This year’s Airtel Bika Tournament attracted over 52 clans, representing the Buganda totems, who competed in both football and netball. The 52 clans progressed through elimination rounds until reaching the round of 16.

Here, they were divided into 4 groups. Following this stage, 8 teams qualified for the quarterfinals, leading to the final game.

- Advertisement -

While crowning the winners of the 2024 Airtel Bika Tournament, Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga congratulated the Ngabi Nsamba Clan on their victory. He also expressed his appreciation to all the other participating clans for their support in boosting the Kingdom’s activities, which have nurtured great talent.

Ngabi Nsamba Players receive their medals

“The Airtel-Bika Tournament not only provides a platform for young people to showcase their talents but is a celebration of the different clans and the heritage of the Buganda Kingdom. It serves as a unifying factor in the Kingdom and surrounding areas, and I’m happy to see the tournament garner such strong support and a loyal following within the Kingdom. The tournament also plays a key role in social and economic development. People come together to rally behind their teams, both on and off the pitch, and engage in the various entrepreneurial opportunities it presents. I thank Airtel Uganda for being a valued partner and for their continued support, which is instrumental in helping us organize these important events.” Owek. Mayiga said.

“Our partnership with the Buganda Kingdom has been instrumental in improving the communities where we operate.

Together, we’ve nurtured talent, provided entertainment through tournaments like The Bika and Masaza Cup, and even promoted a healthier society with the Kabaka Birthday Run. This successful collaboration aligns perfectly with our brand promise of giving Ugandans a reason to imagine, and we’re committed to continuing this strong partnership,” Balunywa concluded.

Before Saturday’s triumph, Ngabi Nsamba had previously won the Bika Shield in 1951, 1987, 2007 and 2013.

Ngabi Nsamba also received Shs9M while runners up Mpindi walked away with Shs7M

Individual accolades for Bika Byabaganda Football 2024

MVP – Allan Mugalu (Mpindi)

Top Scorer – Isaac Mpagi Kajubi with 5 goals (Nsenene)

Fair Play Award – Njaza

Best Goalkeeper – Dennis Kiggundu (Nkima)

Jjaja Nakirembeka received an award for his continuous attendance

Share This Article
Leave a comment