Ad image

Aziz Damani Scorpions clinch inaugural Elite T20 league title



Aziz Damani Scorpions clinched the Inaugural Elite T20 League on Saturday at Lugogo Cricket Oval.

The final which was supposed to be contested between Scorpions and Royal Varsani Bucks was not played due to rain and the poor state of the pitch.

This meant that the organisers had to make a decision and declared Scorpions champions since they were leading the three team log with 10 points, two above Bucks and Mamba Challengers bottom placed with six points.

- Advertisement -

For starters, the tournament was organised by the Uganda Cricket Association and kicked off last Sunday.

Eventual winners Scorpions bagged Shs3M as prize money and each player took home a Hisense mobile phone.

Wasim Butt of Scorpions was named MVP and best Batsman after registering 212 runs, averaging 53 from the six games he played.

- Advertisement -

Bucks duo Siraje Nsubuga and Jonathan Kizza were named as best bowler and fielder respectively.

Individual Accolades :

Man of Series – Wasim Butt (Aziz Damani Scorpions)
Best Batsman – Wasim Butt (Aziz Damani Scorpions)
Best Bowler – Nsubuga Sirajje (Royal Varsani Bucks)
Best Fielder – Kiiza Jonathan (Royal Varsani Bucks)
Best Wicketkeeper – Stephen Wabwose (Aziz Damani Scorpions)

Share this Article
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content
Click to Hide Advanced Floating Content