Badminton: 2023 Uganda International Challenge Climaxes

By admin
3 Min Read


The 2023 Edition of the biggest badminton tournament on Uganda Badminton Association calendar climaxed on Sunday 26th February at Lugogo Indoor Arena.

The closing ceremony was graced by State Minister for Sports, Hon. Peter Ogwang who was flanked by the National Council of Sports Board Chairman, Mr. Ambrose Tashobya and NCS general secretary Dr Patrick Bernard Ogwel.

Minister thanked Uganda Badminton Association for a proper organisation of the event. He pledged more support to the sport tht has potential to bring over 40 countries in the nation, which he termed as foreign exchange Uganda gained.

Bringing upto 49 countries in the country is one part where am very impressed. The organization has been very good, in terms of sports tourism and exposure for our children, I would like to commend the federation.” Stated Ogwang before adding

- Advertisement -

“Finally plans are underway, for us to have a state of the art indoor Stadium in Lugogo. And I want to confirm we are in negotiations. The President will make the official announcement, but as far as the contract is concerned, we are having discussions.” He added as quoted by Sports Bee

Team Uganda didn’t perform well, the best player for Uganda bowed at at round of 32, who was Husina Kobugabe.

So after watching the final of men’s singles which was won by Malaysia’s International, Justin Hoh, Minister asserted that the nation needs to add on the capacity of the coaches and even the facilities where players can train from, he said that he is going to have a meeting with the Association and see how the government can help the sport in that area.

The Malaysians took the day by winning gold medals both in women and men singles.

Women doubles were won by Indians internationals, men doubles went to Thailand while mixed doubles were for Singapore.

- Advertisement -

•Men Singles Gold medalist- Justin Hoh (Malaysia)

•Women singles gold medalist- Karupathevan Letshanaa (Malaysia)

•Men doubles (gold medal)- Pongsakorn Thongkham and Wongsathorn Thongkhar (Thailand)

- Advertisement -

•Women Doubles (gold medal)- Trisha Hegde and Khushi Thakkar (India)

•Mixed doubles (gold medal)- Jun Liang Andy Kwek and Wong Jia Ying Crystal (Singapore)

Meanwhile, the  Juniors Championship will begin on Monday 27th February 2023 at Lugogo Indoor Arena.

Share This Article