Dates and Venue for Masaza Cup opener revealed

By admin
3 Min Read


2023 Masaza Cup opener
Busiro Vs Mawokota
Date: 24th June, 2023
Venue: Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku
Kickoff Time: 3PM
Fee: Ordinary 10000 and VIP 30000

Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu, the Minister for youth, sports and recreation in Buganda government has confirmed the dates and teams for the 2023 Masaza Cup opening game.

The Minister has on Tuesday morning, revealed that the opening game will be a Muganzirwa Group contest between defending champions Busiro and Mawokota and will take place on 24th June, at Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

- Advertisement -
Minister Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu and Masaza Cup organizing committee chairman Hajji Sulaiman Ssejjengo

“We are ready and set to have the opening game of the 19th edition between holders Busiro and Mawokota.” We call upon all the county chiefs, team leaders and fans to give support to their respective counties in any possible way.” Said Ssekabembe

Masaza Cup organizing committee chairman Hajji Sulaiman Ssejjengo revealed why Busiro will host the opening game at Wankulukuku not Kabaka Kyabaggu which is their home ground

“The challenge we are facing in this part of the country is lack of enough land and so we have failed to find any suitable venue in Busiro to host the opening. We all know that a game of this magnitude attracts many important guests including his highness the Kabaka and so we reached an agreement with Busiro to have Wankulukuku as the hosting venue for the opener. Wankulukuku at least can accommodate such important people.” Said Ssejjengo

Busiro are under the stewardship of 2020 Masaza Cup winning coach Ibrahim Kirya while Mawokota are managed by Micheal Bukenya.

Kirya replaced Simon Peter Mugerwa at who crossed to Buddu at Busiro.

- Advertisement -

Bukenya on the other hand took over helms at Mawokota from Richard Malinga who managed the three time winners for the last two seasons.

During the 18th edition final of the prestigious competition, Busiro beat two time winners Buddu 2-1 at Muteesa II Stadium.

Former Winners:

- Advertisement -

2022: Busiro
2021: Buddu
2020: Gomba
2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Singo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Singo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Bululi
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba

Share This Article