Okello, Mukundane miss out as Micho names final squad for Algeria game

By admin
3 Min Read


Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin Sredojevic has named the final squad that will lock horns with Northern African giants Algeria in the group F game of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers.

Uganda Cranes will host Algeria on 18th June 2023 at Japoma Stadium in Douala, Cameroon.

The team has been in residential training for 10 days. The Serbian tactician has now trimmed the team to 23 players that will travel to Cameroon on Friday morning (2:45am).

Foreign based players Moses Opondo, Isma Watenga, Juma Ibrahim, Allan Enyou and Musa Ramathan miss out as well as Allan Okello.

- Advertisement -

Vipers defender Hillary Mukundane who has had a brilliant season also misses the cut while youthful defender Rogers Torach is part of the travelling team. Bright Anukani is also not heading to Cameroon.

The travelling squad has three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and seven forwards.

Before the must win game against Algeria, the Cranes will play a friendly game against Democratic Republic of Congo on Wednesday, 14th June in Cameroon.

Uganda is third in Group F on four points same as Tanzania while Algeria leads the Group on 12 points. Niger is bottom on 2 points.


- Advertisement -

Salim Omar Magoola (Richards Bay FC, South Africa), Charles Lukwago (St. George FC, Ethiopia), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC, Uganda)


Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda), Gavin Kizito (Al Ittihad SC, Egypt), Abdu Azizi Kayondo (CD Leganes, Spain), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makwloon Al Arab, Egypt), Halid Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica, North Macedonia), Gift Fred (SC Villa, Uganda), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC, Uganda)

- Advertisement -


Khalid Aucho (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Bobosi Byaruganga (FC Austin, USA), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC, Uganda), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC, Greece)


Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa, Uganda), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil SC, Iraq), Fahad Bayo (MFK Vyškov, Czech Republic), Richard Bassangwa (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt)


Issa Kakaire Magoola – Leader of Delegation
Milutin Sredojevic – Head Coach
Moses Basena – Assistant Coach
Fred Kajoba Kisitu – Goalkeeping Coach
Arthur Kyesimira – Fitness Coach
El Hadj Moussa Behlil – Video Analyst
Emmanuel Nakabago – Team Doctor
Ivan Ssewanyana – Team Physiotherapist
Samuel Mulondo – Kit Manager
Ahmed Hussein – FUFA Communications Director
Paul Mukatabala Nantulya – National Teams Officer
Goefrey Massa – Team Manager
Ivan Otim – FUFA Tv Producer
Hakimu Matovu – FUFA Tv Producer
Leilah Nankya – FUFA Events Manager

Share This Article