Bombers in preparations for Africa Elite Boxing Championship

By admin
2 Min Read


Uganda national Boxing team (Bombers) have began preparations for the forthcoming Africa Elite Men’s and Women’s Boxing Championship in Yaounde, Cameroon.

The Bombers team comprises of 17 Boxers who entered a residential training camp on Thursday, 13th at Buloba Forest Park.

The Championship us scheduled to begin on 25th July to August 6th in Yaounde.

Head coach Twaib Mayanja asserts that his troops are in good conditions.

- Advertisement -

“We have started preparations for the forthcoming Africa Boxing Championship in Cameroon. All the boxers are in good conditions and we have already held great training sessions. The good thing is that they have been taking part in the Boxing Champions league and so their fitness levels are superb.” Said Mayanja.

Bombers Captain Joshua Tukamuhebwa Joshua also revealed that good preparations will be key to their success in Yaounde

“We started training on Thursday and I believe we can perform well in the championship basing on the preparations we are having with our coaches.” Said Tukamuhebwa

Besides Tukamuhebwa, Uganda will be represented by 2018 AFBC Youth Championships silver medallist Ukasha Matovu now fighting at welterweight, light-heavyweight Idriss Mukiibi, super-heavyweight Solomon Geko and female welterweight Emily Nakalema.

Newcomers featherweight boxer Mulungi Kassim of East Coast Boxing Club has been minimumweight Joseph Kalema, lightweight Ssali Wasswa, light-middleweight Muzamir Semmud, middleweight Ronald Okello, cruiserweight Lawrence Kayiwa and super-heavyweight James Baraka. Women debutants are light-flyweight Grace Nakinga, bantamweight Naddia Najjeme, featherweight Sharua Ndagire, lightweight Zahara Nandawula and light-welter Erina Namutebi.

- Advertisement -

The Bombers are expected to depart for Cameroon on 23rd July.

A total of 35 countries have so far confirmed participation in the $1,000,000 competition. These are DR Congo, Tanzania, Comoros, Cameroon, Senegal, Egypt, Swaziland, Guinea, Morocco, Botswana, Congo Brazzaville, Mauritius, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, Algeria, Malawi, Gabon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Angola, Guinea Bissau, Togo, Mali, Zambia, Cape Verde, Burkina Faso, South Africa and Uganda.

Share This Article