Nkumba thrash 10-man UCU to clinch first ever Pepsi University Football League title

By admin
2 Min Read


Nkumba University clinched their maiden Pepsi University Football League title after thrashing 10 man Uganda Christian University 3-1 in the Final on Saturday at MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

Nkumba University fought their way into the history books with first half goals from Kennedy Ssebadduka, Ismael Lubega and Musuga Isaac secured a historic title for the Entebbe based University.

It’s a victory in adversity for the Entebbe based University who become the seventh University to win the title.

UCU Goalkeeper John Collins Wesonga was sent off for handling the ball outside the box in the 21st minute.

- Advertisement -

Wesonga was left distraught after he was dismissed for handling the ball outside of his penalty area.

Sharif Ssewanyana pulled one back for UCU two minutes after the recess.

Sulaiman Bbosa coached side were not to be denied a first ever University Football League title in their third final appearance. They had previously lost two finals in 2013 and 2016.

This was UCU’s second University Football League Final with the first coming in 2019 when they beat St.Lawrence University 2-1.

Jimmy Kintu, UCU head coach was aiming to guide his side to multiple University Football League titles but couldn’t overcome a determinated Nkumba University side.

- Advertisement -

Nkumba joins other previous winners who are Makerere University, MUBS, Kampala University, Uganda Christian University, Uganda Martyrs University and Kyambogo University.

Meanwhile, Kampala University finished third following their 2-1 triumph over MUBS in the third place playoff on Friday.

- Advertisement -

Uganda Martyrs University Akbal Ssentongo finished as the top scorer of the tournament with 9 goals.

All the Winners

2023/24- Nkumba University
2022- Uganda Martyrs University
2021-Not Held due to Covid
2020- Not Held due Covid
2019- Uganda Christian University
2018- Kyambogo University
2017- Uganda Martyrs University
2016- Kampala University
2015- Makerere University Business School
2014- Makerere University Business School
2013- Kampala University
2012- Makerere University

Share This Article