Travis Mutyaba makes history as Zamalek win CAF Confederation Cup

By admin
2 Min Read


Travis Mutyaba became the first Ugandan player to win the CAF Confederation Cup after Zamalek SC edge RS Berkane on away goals rule in the final.

Zamalek beat RS Berkane 1-0 in the second leg in Cairo to tie the encounter at 2-2 after the Moroccan side won 2-1 in Berkane.

Ahmed Hamdi scored the all important goal for Zamalek in the 23rd minute to ensure Zamalek win their second CAF Confederation Cup title.

- Advertisement -

Mutyaba who was an unused substitute in the first leg in Morocco, was not part of the match day squad for the anticipated second leg.

The Confederation Cup title was his first silverware since joining the White Knights four months in February.

Last year, Khalid Aucho came close to triumph on the same stage with Tanzanian giants Yanga only to lose to Algeria’s USM Alger courtesy of the away goals rule.

CAF Confederation Cup Winners
2023/24: Zamalek SC (Egypt)
2022/23: USM Alger (Algeria)
2021/22: RS Berkane (Morocco)
2020/21: Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2019/20: RS Berkane
2018/19: Zamalek SC (Egypt)
2017/18: Raja Casablanca (Morocco)
2016/17: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2015/16: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2014/15: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)
2013/14: Al Ahly (Egypt)
2012/13: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2011/12: AC Leopards (Congo Brazzaville)
2010/11: MAS Fes (Morocco)
2009/10: FUS Rabat (Morocco)
2008/09: Stade Malien (Mali)
2007/08: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2006/07: CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
2005/06: Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)
2004/05: FAR Rabat (Morocco)
2003/04 : Hearts of Oak (Ghana)

- Advertisement -
Share This Article
Leave a comment