Kawempe Muslim beat Rines SS to clinch record-extending 9th national title

By admin
2 Min Read


Kawempe Muslim beat Rines Secondary School 5-4 in a penalty shoot out to win the 2024 National Girls Football Championship at Standard High Zzana, Ndejje Campus.

The full-time ended 0-0 as Rines proved resilient enough for Kawempe to find a breakthrough.

In the shoot out, Kawempe’s goalkeeper Haira Nabbosa saved two penalties from Jovia Nakirya and Halima Mupyanga to clinch victory for the Moses Nkata coached team.

Agnes Nabukenya, Hadijah Babirye, Sumaiya Nabuto, Halima Kampi and Krusum Namutebi scored for Kawempe while Cynthia Kirenga’s penalty was saved.

- Advertisement -

Patricia Nakato Nanyanzi, Prisca Justine Ayerango, Monica Bulya and Immaculate Odalu were the scorers for Rines.

The victory ensured Kawempe clinch their record-extending 9th National Girls Football Championship.

Prior this year’s edition, Kawempe were previous winners of the championship in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019.

Amus College finished third after beating St. Noa Girls 2-0 in the third place playoff courtesy of goals from Tamisi Shafiga and Aujat Doreen.

Uganda Martyrs High School Lubaga finished 5th while Sheema Girls, Boni Consil and Sacred Heart followed in the 6th, 7th and 8th places respectively.

- Advertisement -

Rines SS forward Prisca Justine Ayerango was voted the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament while Sylvia Kabene of St. Noa finished as the top scorer with 22 goals.

Bridget Nansamba of Rines SS was also named the best goalkeeper of the tournament.

National Girls Football Past Winners

- Advertisement -

2005: Masaka SS
2006: St. John’s Wakitaka
2007: Masaka SS
2008: Masaka SS
2009: Kawempe Muslim
2010: Kawempe Muslim
2011: Kawempe Muslim
2012: St. Mary’s Kitende
2013: Kawempe Muslim
2014: Kawempe Muslim
2015: Kawempe Muslim
2016: Kawempe Muslim
2017: Mukono High School
2018: Gaddafi Integrated Academy
2019: Kawempe Muslim
2020: Not Held
2021: Not Held
2022: St. Noa Girls
2023: Amus College
2024: Kawempe Muslim

Share This Article
Leave a comment